History

Though the vision of a Christian camp had been on the minds of people in this area of Maine, it was not until November, 1950, that the story of Fair Haven actually began. A pastor and his friends were deer hunting when they stumbled onto the abandoned camp buildings on the shore of Lake Passagassawaukeag. Led by God, a small group of men and women stepped out in faith and offered $5,000 for the property. The offer was accepted and Central Maine Bible Conference was formed to sponsor the camp.

Fall and spring found many working at the site, clearing property and repairing the buildings. One Sunday afternoon in early May, the East Haven lodge was full as Fair Haven Camps was dedicated to the glory of God.

July, 1951, began the first camping season with sixty boys and girls attending. The second season, boys and girls each had three weeks. The divided camping seasons were continued until West Haven, the girls’ side, was purchased in 1958. West Haven, on the opposite side of the lake, is now the center of Fair Haven’s year-round retreats, as well. Since then, a full season of camp has been provided for both boys and girls.

Thousands of young people have enjoyed their camping experience here since 1951. Even more important, many have accepted Christ as their Savior and have been stimulated to grow in their faith in Him.

In 2010, Fair Haven Camps celebrated 60 years of service to the Lord with a big celebration. Many former staff and campers came to enjoy the day!

To read a complete history written by founding member Hilda Sheldon click here.